Game Theory Laboratory
Computer Science and Automation
Indian Institute of Science
Bangalore - 5600 012  India
Phone: +91 - 80 - 22932773, 22932468
Fax: +91 - 80 - 23602911

The focus of my current research is to apply game theory and mechanism design to current research problems at the interface of computer science and economics. In particular, I am interested in algorithmic game theory , design of auctions and electronic markets , dynamic mechanisms with learning , crowdsourcing , and social network analysis .

I have been at the Indian Institute of Science since August 1979, as a B.E. Student (Department of ECE) (1979-82), M.E. Student (Department of CSA) (1982-84), and Doctoral Student (CSA) (1984-87). Since February 1988, I am on the faculty of the Department of CSA and was Chairman of the department during January 2010 - July 2014. I currently happen to be Chairman of the Division of Electrical Sciences at IISc. During 1992, I was a Post-Doctoral Researcher at the Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems (LIDS), Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA and during 1997, I was a Visiting Scientist on sabbatical at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersberg, Maryland, USA.

I am an elected fellow of the following Institutions and Academies: IEEE, New York (FIEEE); Indian National Science Academy (FNA), New Delhi; Indian Academy of Sciences (FASc), Bangalore; Indian National Academy of Engineering (FNAE), New Delhi; and the National Academy of Sciences (FNASc), Allahabad. In 2010, I received the J.C. Bose National Fellowship from the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India. In 2009, I received the IISc Alumni Award for Research Excellence in Engineering at the Indian Institute of Science. I am currently a Senior Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering.

I consider myself fortunate to have been an alumnus of: The Government Primary School, Kosgi (Kurnool District, Andhra Pradesh) during 1964-69; the Mahatma Gandhi Municipal High School, Hindupur (Anantapur District, Andhra Pradesh) during 1969-74; the National College, Gauribidanur (Chickaballapur District, Karnataka) during 1974-79 (Pre-University and B.Sc. Courses), and the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (B.E., M.E., and Ph.D.).

Current Links

Selected Recent Papers

  • Rohith Vallam, Priyanka Bhatt, Debmalya Mandal, Y. Narahari. A Stackelberg Game Approach for Incentivizing Participation in Online Educational Forums with Heterogeneous Student Population AAAI 2015.

  • Praphul Chandra, Y. Narahari, Debmalya Mandal, Prasenjit Dey. Novel Mechanisms for Online Crowdsourcing with Unreliable. Strategic Agents. AAAI 2015.

  • Shweta Jain, B. Narayanaswamy, Y. Narahari. A Multiarmed Bandit Incentive Mechanism for Crowdsourcing Demand Response in Smart Grids. AAAI 2014.

  • Debmalya Mandal and Y. Narahari. A Novel Ex-Post Truthful Mechanism for Multi-Slot Sponsored Search Auctions. AAMAS 2014.

  • Palash Dey and Y. Narahari. Asymptotic Collusion-Proofness of Voting Rules: The Case of Large Number of Candidates. AAMAS 2014.

  • Shweta Jain, Sujit Gujar, Onno Zoeter, and Y. Narahari. A Quality Assuring Multi-Armed-Bandit Crowdsourcing Mechanism with Incentive Compatible Learning. AAMAS 2014.

  • Satyanath Bhat, Swaprava Nath, Sujit Gujar, Onno Zoeter, Y. Narahari, and Chris Dance. A Mechanism to Optimally Balance Cost and Quality of Labeling Tasks Outsourced to Strategic Agents. AAMAS 2014.

  • Swapnil Dhamal and Y. Narahari. Scalable Preference Aggregation in Social Networks. HCOMP 2013.

  • Ratul Ray, Rohith Vallam, and Y. Narahari. Eliciting honest feedback from crowdsourced tree networks using continuous scoring rules. AAMAS 2013.

  • Shweta Jain, B. Narayanaswamy, Y. Narahari, Saiful Husain, Voo Nyuk Yoong. Constrained Tatonnement for Distributed Demand Management in Smart Grids. ACM e-energy 2013.

  • Vikas Garg, Y. Narahari, and M. Narasimha Murty. Novel Biobjective Clustering based on Cooperative Game Theory. IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering (TKDE), 2013.

  • Akash Das Sharma, Sujit Gujar, and Y. Narahari. Truthful multiarmed bandit mechanisms for multislot sponsored search auctions. Current Science (Special Issue on Game Theory), November 2012.

  • Swapnil Dhamal and Y. Narahari. Forming networks of strategic agents with desired topologies. WINE 2012.

  • Swaprava Nath, Pankaj Dayama, Dinesh Garg, Y. Narahari, and James Zou. Mechanism design for time critical and cost critical task execution via crowdsourcing. WINE 2012.

  • Pankaj Dayama, Aditya Karnik, and Y. Narahari. Optimal Incentive Timing Strategies for Product Marketing on Social Networks. AAMAS 2012.

  • Swaprava Nath, Onno Zoeter, Y. Narahari, Chris Dance. Dynamic Mechanism Design for Markets with Strategic Resources. UAI 2011.

Research Publications

My research can be categorized into the following areas: game theory and mechanism design, electronic commerce, auctions and markets, supply chain design, factory modeling and scheduling, queueing theory, and Petri nets. You can find a list of my publications here. Do send an email if you are unable to download any paper.


My current teaching interests are in Game Theory (to be offered during January-April 2015), Topics in Game Theory (currently offered during August-December 2014). I have earlier offered courses in Electronic Commerce, Software Architecture, Supply Chain Management, Performance Modeling, and Data Structures and Algorithms. I also teach a course on Algorithms and Programming (Offered in August-December 2013, 2012, and 2011) for the undergraduate students at IISc.

Books, Monograph, Lecture Notes

Collaborative Research

My most recent collaborative R & D projects include: Incentive Design for Enhancing Efficiency and Participation in Online Education (Shared University Research Grant with IBM Research), Influence Maximization in the Presence of Strategic Competing Campaigns (supported by Adobe Research Labs, Bangalore), Incentive Compatible Machine Learning (sponsored by the Xerox Corporation) and Intelligent Mechanisms and Algorithms for Carbon Economics (sponsored by Infosys Technologies, Bangalore). I have recently completed collaborative/sponsored projects with Infosys Technologies, GM R & D, Intel, and the Office of Naval Research. You can find a complete list of R & D Projects here.


Doctoral Students (Graduated)
Current Members of the Group
Recent Post-Docs

Master's Students (Research) (Graduated)

Master's Students (Engineering) (Graduated)

Project Associates

Institute Committees, Editorial Boards, Conference Committees

Member, Coordination Committee, IISc Undergraduate Programme
Member, Alumni Cell, IISc
Member, Editorial Board, Journal of Computing, Computer Society of India
Member, Editorial Board, Current Science, Indian Academy of Science
Senior Editor, IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering
Associate Editor, IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man & Cybernetics (Part A)

General Chair, IEEE Conference on Automation Science and Engineering, August 2009, Bangalore
Convener, Organizing Committee, The IISc Centenary Conference, December 2008, Bangalore
Steering Committee, MCDES - An IISc Centenary Conference, May 2008
IISc-IBM Operations Research Workshop, April 2007
Guest Editor, Sadhana Special Issue on E-Commerce and E-Business, 2005


Awards and Recognition
Invited Talks Abroad
Invited Talks in India
Photo Gallery